Four key tips to buy a Good Diamond

buy a Good Diamond


Choosing a stone for eternity is a complex mission, but not impossible. These are some of the most practical tips not to fail in the election.

The four evaluation criteria of the diamond are defined in the four keys: Cut, Carat, Clarity, Color, you can also use Size, Weight, Purity, and color, respectively.

1.     The size

With it, we refer to the angles and proportions of a diamond. Based on complex scientific formulas, a very well-carved diamond will reflect the light from one facet to another (like a mirror) and disperse it, reflect it by the top of the diamond by the table if the diamond is very well carved, then it will have an optimal brilliance, we will talk about diamond fires. A diamond can also be too flat or too thick. In these cases, the light will not be reflected optimally and the brilliance of the Australian pink diamonds will be affected.

2.     The weight

The weight of a diamond is expressed in carats: 1 carat equals 0.20 grams. A carat can be separated right into 100 factors. A 0.75-carat diamond is equal to a 75 point diamond and is equal to a 3/4 carat diamond. The diamond industry uses different types of scales to measure the weight of diamonds. Carat is a measure that also applies to other precious stones and fine stones, this measure have nothing to do with the carat of gold alloys and should not be confused. A diamond that weighs 0.9990 is advertised as 1.00 carats and another that weighs 0.9998 is advertised as 0.99 carats.

3.     The purity

Diamonds with little or no inclusion are very rare and therefore cost very expensive. These inclusions may resemble crystals, clouds, or tiny threads or plumes. International standards established that a diamond is considered pure from the moment an expert’s eye would not discover any defect with a magnifying glass of 10 magnifications (10 times).

There is a scale of purity that classifies the diamond, which comprises the following degrees of purity: FL, IF, VVS1, VVS2, VS1, VS2, SI1, SI2, SI3, P1, P2, P3.

The purity of a diamond can be artificially modified. To discover this type of diamond, just look at the stone on the table with a magnifying glass of 10 magnifications. The diamond moves slightly making a mirror effect and a small flash will appear. This flash is very fast and quite difficult to see, but if you see it, it is in the presence of a diamond called “Clarity Enhanced”. These terms will be noted in the comments in the certificate issued by the international expert laboratories (GIA, HRD, IGI, etc.). The price of these diamonds has a very important reduction (from -60 to -80%).

4.     The color

A colorless diamond is a colorless diamond. The color of a diamond has a significant impact on its price. The diamond industry uses color scales to classify them, which ranges from D to Z, from colorless to light yellow.

The scale starts with D as Diamond; there is no A, B or C

There are also diamonds of all colors: blue, red, pink, green, yellow, black, champagne, cognac, etc… Some are very, very rare: red, green, blue, etc.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.